Tuapte Semper Ingredere Via

Community, People, Localization – a return to a human scale

Trees Part 2

leave a comment »

I spent a morning walking the property with a fellow from the local conservation authority recently to discuss trees, look at the soil and see if they could or would participate in planting trees.

I’d been pricing out buying bareroot stock which is are trees about 1 – 2 years old and about a foot high.  Easier to plant the smaller stuff and the potted trees that are 10 to 15 feet in height run about $200 to $400 a piece.  With my plans to plant about 2000 trees I decided I did not want to spend $600,000 on the trees themselves !   The bareroot stock would cost around $4,000 for the trees themselves.

In back there is about 4 acres of grass to cut back, prep the land by turning the soil over a bit to get it ready for the spring planting of the trees.   The grass is about 4 feet high so I was pretty sure doing it myself was not going to be an option without a tractor so I started to look around for someone to pay to do it for me.

Which is when I met with the chap from the conservation authority.  He has agreed to come in and cut the grass back, prep the land and plant in the spring.   They will pay for the trees and plant 3,000 in.  All for a cost to me of about $500.  So I will get all the work done, trees bought and planted for next to nothing.

So far the I am committed to plant in the back lot 500 Tamarck, 250 Red Maple, 250 Silver Maple, and 800 Eastern White pine.

Back Lot

The tamarck are a larch tree which are throughtout Ontario and much of Canada.  Siberia also has its version of the larch tree.  Its a fast growing conifer that grows about 50 feet tall, green all summer and turns gold in the fall.   Good firewood so looking forward to burning some at some point.

Tamarack

Eastern White pine tree is one of the largest trees in North America often reaching 200 feet easily and will live for 400 years.   It too is fast growing and is green all year with its needles.  Ontario’s official tree.

Eastern White Pine

 

Along the driveway and to the first tree line is about 700 feet which is open to the lot next door.   I’ve been trying to figure out a way to plant a long row of something to create some privacy.

Front Lot

Part of the front lot along the east side of the driveway I will have the authority plant 1,000 white spruce trees and 200 poplar trees.  White spruce grow to 70 – 80 feet and the poplar can get up to 150 feet fast.   Some of the poplar over time I will thin out and use for firewood as its not much good other stuff.  The poplar will rapidly grow and create some privacy giving the slower going spruce time to take off and create a solid living wall.   After 15 yrs or so the spruce will be 20 feet plus and I can start thinning the poplar.

White Spruce

Poplar

Written by dcveale13

September 19, 2011 at 11:59 pm

Leave a Reply

