Tuapte Semper Ingredere Via

Community, People, Localization – a return to a human scale

Early Winter

with 3 comments

Surprised how cold it has become this early and snow on the ground.   I haven’t yet shoveled the whole lane this year but might as the winter goes on.  Depends on how much snow comes at once.   So far the truck gets up and down the lane no problem.  Snow tires are a godsend outside the city.

Bookshelves filling up

Bookshelves filling up

Have 5 bookshelves in so far.  Next ones will be going into the bedrooms.  I think those will get populated with fiction.   With the kobo books and hard copies its about time to start a career that keeps me at home.   Drive up to Ottawa is manageable but gets to be a drag when the weather starts to get bad.

Lots of blue jays, chickadees, downy woodpeckers about.  Two bird feeders up so for me its better than tv.  Deer tracks here and there, rabbits eating what the birds spill out along with the chipmunks.

Heating design works well.  I hemmed and hawed about radiant floor heating but decided to stick with just the passive solar design.  A few days of heavy cloud and below zero temperatures will see the evening temperatures inside down to 15 degrees inside.   If its 3 days of sunny weather day time temperature hits 28 or so and the evening may drop to 20 until the sun comes up.  I’ll add in some adobe furniture like a bench and a coffee table make out of containers of water which will ramp up the heat storage.   Usually as I am around most of the time I run the stove a few times a day for cooking and keep that a low burn so I don’t get it too hot inside.

 

mini-PB240002

Sit here a lot at night reading before i nod off.  With the straw bale walls its really quiet inside.  Sure beats sitting in an office

Written by dcveale13

December 6, 2013 at 1:45 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey there, Hope you dont have a harsh winter. I could relate to your thoughts and measures. I also tried to invest in land when I could, but never got a chance to retire on it. You are living a dream, that the only the strong will make their own reality, for sure. Have a lovely end of year with all the blessings that nature provides. Cheers, Sandy P.S. Have you considered having a vineyard on the property?

    Sandy

    December 6, 2013 at 8:26 pm

    • Hoping to grow grapes. Wild grapes out back. I need to grow them up a wall which retains heat I think

      dcveale13

      December 8, 2013 at 2:46 pm

  2. It looks really great Camron! Congratulations. I hope you have stocked up on enough wine to go with all those books!! You really are living the dream. And I will be heading back to the office tomorrow….. 😦

    So this is your first winter in the house I think, right? Good for you 🙂 keep us posted!

    Erin

    December 9, 2013 at 1:27 am


Leave a Reply

