Tuapte Semper Ingredere Via

Community, People, Localization – a return to a human scale

Growing weed

with 7 comments

Yes that too is on my list !

I have mastered growing the non fun weeds.  Turning parts of a pasture into productive area of food production is a learning experience about weeds.

Lots of weeds

Lots of weeds

Hard to tell from the picture but 2 days priot it was just vegetables growing and soil between the rows.  Effing weeds shoot up really fast so trying to keep on top of them until the plants get a bit further ahead.   Weeded a bit again last night and thankfully the beets, beans, zucchini , carrots etc are all starting to get ahead.   Kind of reinforces my opinion that getting perennial ground cover surrounding perennial vegetables , fruits and nuts is easier and it all just takes care of itself.

Hazelnut trees are growing really well.   Another year until a small harvest I think.  Will figure out a small press  to get the oil out which is suppose to be identical to olive oil.   Still have to figure out where to grow wine grapes.  Maybe a home built green house.

Lilac

Lilac

Prior owner planted two lilac shrubs at the entrance to the property – which I think i will call Wits End .   Never really sure what a lilac shrub was until someone pointed out this is what I had growing !  Think every day I learn I know less and less.  Thankfully I have an enormous head to fill with stuff.

Starting for Dec 2015

Starting for Dec 2015

Spent a day working off and on with the chainsaw cutting wood for the following winter.  Want to get the 7 cords cut and set aside to season for 12 months.  Although that amount of wood I think i will finish burning in the winter of 2020 for heating and cooking.  Cutting away and trying to carefully watch that the logs aren’t about to start rolling off the pile on to me.  Holding a chainsaw and dodging an 800 pound log at the same time is something i want to avoid with my lack of agility !

Usually by the end of the day I am in the rocking chair , late afternoon sun shining and dozing off.   Often wake up to some complaining birds, chipmunks sniggering, rabbits watching me wondering what the hell i am up to and a couple of deer nearby showing no fear of the great white hunter.   One day….

In the rocking chair trying to keep awake

In the rocking chair trying to keep awake

Written by dcveale13

June 19, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Posted in Cameron Veale

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ha! Haven’t read the entire post but enjoy the title, growing weed:)

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Natasha

    June 20, 2014 at 1:25 am

    • Ya, got to get my butt in gear on that one. 420 friendly for me, the chipmunks, rabbits, deer. all of us chilling on the back deck listening to jazz…:-)

      dcveale13

      June 20, 2014 at 1:44 am

  2. Hi Cam 😊

    Ah your notes are so witty you make me laugh! Thanks coz I need it now…off of work x 2 wks now on STRESS LEAVE!! OMG. Never thought it would happen to me!!! Mostly due to work, but also the kids, and we were robbed a month ago…..so……a wee bit stressed now.

    So are you trying to tell me that 7 cords of wood will last you….6 years??? No way!? I wanna build one of those houses if so!!! Wow.

    I saw a lovely little red house on mls yesterday in PEI for….$75K!!! Sigh. Just two more years. If I effing make it!!!

    Anyways, you look good…relaxed!!! Good for you. I will be off for sure another week….then we’ll see. I just want to get the next two years over with!! Isnt that terrible??? sigh.

    K, gotta go get some sleep now (3 hours last night…☹)

    take care Cam,

    Erin

    Sent from Windows Mail

    Erin Welch

    June 20, 2014 at 1:26 am

  3. Hey Cam – great place you have there. Nice fortress of solitude!!
    Get a goat for the weeds = have goat milk at the same time. Plant lavender with the herbs & flowers as they don’t like that.
    You know you can eat lilac flowers in your salad – make bitters. Lots of room for a still as well. Lilac liqueur – mmmm
    Weed – well, thats always good for health : )
    Have fun and take care

    Linda

    June 25, 2014 at 11:26 pm

  4. Hi there Cam,
    Saludos from Barcelona. I have to admit seeing all your green space made me long for one.
    Still if I have to live in a city, BCN is about as pleasant as it gets. Do you ever recruit summer volunteers to help out? Seems like a lot for one person to manage.
    Well glad you are doing so well with the summer.
    Hasta the next time, abrazotes,
    10C

    Tency

    June 28, 2014 at 6:13 pm

    • Barcelona is a beautiful city. Been a while since I was there. At least this summer all the work is keeping me out of trouble !

      dcveale13

      July 2, 2014 at 10:21 am

  5. Hi,

    I’m so excited to tell you the latest news, something really great has happened) Please read about it here http://www.gentlegiantsrescue-dogue-de-bordeaux-french-mastiffs.com/leave.php?1819

    Sincerely, Natasha

    Natasha

    April 26, 2017 at 11:44 pm


Leave a Reply

