Tuapte Semper Ingredere Via

Community, People, Localization – a return to a human scale

Everything is better with a glass of wine

with one comment

Recently one evening I was sitting on the deck after a hard day’s work and enjoying a glass of wine.  Contemplating all good things in life like how much wood a woodchuck chucks if it could chuck wood, when I heard a bunch of banging and rattling under the deck.   Stuck my head to look under and there was a ground hog staring back at me.  By time I got back on my feet to get a pole to scare him out he had disappeared.

Early next morning I went off to check the vegetable patch and there he was again staring nochalantly around without a  care in the world.  Much like me on the deck with my wine. Then he went back to eating my beet tops.   I grabbed the a handy length of 2×4 and charged the bastard but those suckers can run like the dickens.   He took off past the tree line into the next field and I made to follow him but forgot about the fence.   After entagling myself from the barbed wire and cursing like a mad man I decided it was time to sit on the deck and contemplate life again.

That evening I grabbed some wine to head out to the deck (recurring theme there) and this bloody deer was eating the day lilies and had been biting off one of the high bush cranberry shrubs.   This time I was clever and grabbed a handful of nearby rocks and started heaving them at the fleeing deer.   Suffice it say I would starve without a grocery store nearby.

Coyotes singing the past few nights around 1 am.  Quite enjoy that.

some of stuff growing now.  Planted a bunch of rutabagas at the end of the weekend.

zucchini plants now flowering orange with small zucchini started

zucchini plants now flowering orange with small zucchini started

Pole beans climbing up my makeshift poles. See if they produce

Pole beans climbing up my makeshift poles. See if they produce

About 25 plants plus coming up now.  Yukon gold

About 25 plants plus coming up now. Yukon gold

Mother nature seems to grow them better. Cherchez la femme

Mother nature seems to grow them better. Cherchez la femme

Tiled two bedrooms this past weekend and moving furniture back in.   I had forgotten how much effort there is getting up then going back down constantly there was. Plus forgot the knee pads.  Monday was not pleasant.  At least the tile lines are pretty good even if I was having a glass of wine at breaks.  I did the one below without the little plastic things to make sure the tiles are equally apart from all the others.  Must have been the wine…

Tiles before grouting

Tiles before grouting

So far moving ahead with projects.  Not sure I will get to the root cellar this year.  Not enough time working weekends and evenings.  At least as I sit on the deck after a hard day of work enjoying more wine ( I buy in bulk)  the place is getting more comfortable and I know the animals are happy I am feeding them.  Birds are.  I can tell.  As i sit with my 3rd glass of wine I can see the truck windshield is covered in bird shit.  %$&*#(#  animals

 

Written by dcveale13

July 1, 2014 at 11:13 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hahahah! Thanks Cam. It is always so uplifting to read your posts! Yes, everything is better with a glass of wine!

    The pics are great…you have a lot of wild flowers growing! And some veg too….I hope the critters don’t get them all!! 😉

    Sent from Windows Mail

    Erin Welch

    July 3, 2014 at 12:43 pm


Leave a Reply

