Tuapte Semper Ingredere Via

Community, People, Localization – a return to a human scale

Stalked by Chipmunks

with one comment

House is staying warm in this temperature drop. Thinking it may be another long cold winter.  At least that seems to be the early forecast.  Plenty of wood but want to make sure its closer to the house this year.   Stupidly left it away from the house and had to dig through snow drifts to get at it in March.
Enjoy splitting the wood.   Hard work but I can see something accomplished at the end of it plus its a great way of getting rid of frustrations.  Just about ready for the start of colder weather now.
First load moved to the house

First load moved to the house

Seems to have been a good growing season for trees.  Poplars coming back, black locust that survived the 2012 drought are shooting up.  Tthe cold nights are less good for the annual vegetables though.  That’s when most of the growing is done.  Although the zuchhini , tomatoes, carrots etc producing a fair bit.
Lots of bird species around.  Last evening their were humming birds, couple different types of sparrows, gold finches, purple finches and thrushes about.
Gold Finch eating up the sunflower seeds

Gold Finch eating up the sunflower seeds

Think its a purple finch

Think its a purple finch

Darn chipmunks seem to be on heroin.   Stepped out on the porch and two of them leapt at me from beside the door screeching at me.  I jumped 4 feet up and smacked my head on the porch roof.   Chipmunks ran away chuckling the little swine.
Thinking up ways to get me

Thinking up ways to get me

Getting ready to leap at me!

Getting ready to leap at me!

Flower bulbs from walmart were a waste.   Get what you pay for.   Probably made of plastic from china.   Wild flower beds doing real well plus once they get going its year after year.  Giant thistle has popped in one of them.   Some sort of metaphor for my life but can’t figure out what !
Thistle amongst the flowers

Thistle amongst the flowers

Will need another bookshelf soon.  Keep getting handed cookbooks, mysteries and other books from people downsizing their place. Think I need to figure out a way to put the cook books somewhere near the kitchen.   Only downside of the strawbale walls is finding the studs behind the clay plaster for hanging stuff.
Stuff done so far this year:
New areas for raspberries, asparagus, comfrey and squash
Planted 20 hazelnut trees
Planted 50 Norway Spruce and 50 Highbush Cranberry trees
Completed the deck under the porch
Experimented with flower beds
Tiled bedrooms and living area except bathroom and pantry to finish off
Before winter
Shed
Outdoor oven
Move firewood and splitting for next year
Did not get done
Root cellar
Pond
Written by dcveale13

August 14, 2014 at 8:23 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hahhah love the crazy chipmunks (sorry but that was funny).

    Now. About the bulbs. Are you sure you planted them right? There is an up side and a down side. You have to know. Maybe you should dig them up and turn them around and see what happens next year….. 🙂 I bought some from the dollar store and they worked…just saying…..

    Thistles are beautiful and rugged and wild…so. That’s good too.

    And do you have a stud finder? Wont it work through the plaster? Or maybe it’s too thick. Just use plugs! 🙂

    See. I am a problem solver today lol.

    Well Cameron I am off to Ireland for two weeks tomorrow!! Agh! I’m so excited now I cant contain myself!!! I hope I dont end up drinking too much wine tonight in anticipation of all the Guinness I’m going to drink over there! lol. And when I get back, it’ll be 1 year and 10 months till I retire!!!

    Our plan now is to buy a little hobby farm in PEI and rent out out Toronto house…that would cover everything for us plus I’ll get the wee pension! So excited…..I really want to be able to be a self-sustaining human in this lifetime! It’ll be a great experiment if nothing else!

    Have a great day, it’s supposed to warm up and be summer again this weekend, i think….

    look out for the chipmunks

    🙂

    E

    Date: Thu, 14 Aug 2014 20:23:11 +0000 To: mrsgardenfairy@hotmail.com

    Erin Welch

    August 15, 2014 at 2:51 pm


Leave a Reply

